top of page

Words to myself all after these journey /Climate action

Haven't snowed in Iceland for 3 weeks in November and December, the rising up of water level in St.Macro's Square of Venice, Italy, snowing and all melted in my city, Mannheim... The climate is changed in a horrible way and we all know what will happened after a few years.

Shall I change my lifestyle and live organic?

The fast food shop in Sweden impressed me a lot because they have different boxes for different materials: papers, plastic, food waste, water...

And every of their citizens will spend a few minutes on doing recycling, even though they were having a hamburger only

No one monitors them and they won't have rewards on doing so

We can't do as much as they are doing within a few years: undeveloped recycling system, limited land and education... No matter where we are, there are some constraints and difficulties we are facing in our countries.

But what can we do in individual levels?

If we don't have space at home or there are no such a system for us to do recycling?

Can we consume less?

Maybe you start feeling tired about celebrating every kind of festival and gift exchange between your friends, sometimes you want to buy something they need but you can't think of any, so you bought something "looks good" as presents

Maybe you found it is a way to relieve the stress in buying something to "reward" yourself when you have leisure time. But a lot of time can be saved if you don't shop often, instead doing something or even develop your own habits.

Maybe you bought something back and found out you don't want them. You tried to donate those items and felt like "ok, someone will need them" and start doing shopping again. In fact, there is no one always want your "unwanted items"

You will find a reason to consume less because it saves time, money and even your energy.

So why not?

You don't have to stop shopping

You can still buy things you needed, but not you wanted

And it is beneficial to you!

You are not Jesus, you are not saving others but yourself

like saving money to buy waterproof shoes in Venice

or more chances to see Aurora hahahah

so consume less and think 10 times before buying garbage

 
 

At the second half of year 2017, I stopped myself buying backpacks for twice (I'm a backpack lover)

I have bought 4 hoodies, 3 pair of pants and 1 pair of boots which I needed.

But the pair of slippers and T-shirt I bought were something I wanted only.

Coming years: I can't stop myself buying things with packages because over-packaging is quite serious here. But I can stop buying any new clothes & backpacks


Tag
No tags yet.
bottom of page