top of page

Things you have to know when you are eating with Italians/ Italy

*****what I wrote is not typical because I don't eat vegetables*****

Italians concern quite much about eating and they have rules to eat different things at different time. Anyone knows me would understand how I eat: put everything into oven, put everything except vegetables to my mouths. I was driving my Italian friend Ilaria crazy hahaha

They don't eat pasta for dinner, don't eat sweet after ham, don't eat ice cream before lunch... (and I do it all the time)

**Bologese pasta is not existed in Bologna

Breakfast

they usually have bread or cookie

...

while I have ham hahah (they usually have ham before the meal as appetizer)

Lunch

pizza or pasta? That's how they usually asked

Pasta

There is a variety of pasta and spaghetti (oh yes they are Italian things), with different sauce (meat sauce, tomato...) and grilled cheese.

pasta with meats:

Bologese spaghetti in Venice

Pizza

We have tried a pizza shop in Bologna city center, which costs 1.7€ per slice only. Each of us took 2 slices of pizza and felt full already.

Sometimes the pizza is cooked and taste like a slice of bread, rather than like pizza.

dessert

I was having ice-cream every day here, yogurt and cheesecake are my favorite flavors. However, flavors with chocolates are famous here, so people usually take flavors like Stracciatella or bacio

sometimes you can upgrade your cone as well (although I don't like eating cone, it looks so pretty so I upgraded my cone lol)

yogurt with fresh fruits

But as you saw in the menu, crepes are more popular here, it's kinda pancake but not pancake.

Dinner

We don't eat pasta for dinner, so we had BBQ, roasted meat or even chicken with cheese as dinner

Italians are quite friendly and you don't have to feel nervous of having a meal with them. Their "eating rules" are quite reasonable, I'm an exceptional case hahahah

Related Posts

See All
Tag
No tags yet.
bottom of page